Nominating Committee Report



With the Sail Canada bylaw changes that were approved last year and a new committee Terms of Reference, the Nominating Committee for 2024 is chaired by the past Sail Canada Board Chair and includes two current Sail Canada Board members not up for re-election as well as two individuals from outside of the Sail Canada Board.

Chair: Hugh McGugan

Board Members: Fiona Cochrane, Kelly Lyon External Members: Jessica Lombard, Mac Morrin

The committee has been meeting over the past several months to discuss Sail Canada's "Call for Nominations" communications to members and to review all nominations received by the September 10, deadline for 2024.

This year there has been an exceptional level of interest in nominations for the Sail Canada Board - perhaps as an indication of rising enthusiasm for sailing in Canada with high profile events like the Olympics and SailGP as well as significant interest in new sailing disciplines such as foiling and kiteboarding.

The list of approved nominations for this year's Board of Directors election includes the following names:

- Peter Bradley ON
- Stefan Eyram ON
- Michael Fong ON
- Hugh Goodday NS
- Martha Henderson ON
- William Howard BC
- Paula Minnikin NS
- Angela Siegal NS
- Perry Tsergas ON
- Dawson Wambolt NS

This year's Board of Directors election is to fill two vacancies with the departure of Board Directors Zac Baum (after completing two three-year terms) and Kelly Lyon (after completing one three-year term).

Due to the gender equity provisions of Sail Canada's bylaws, this year at least one of these two vacancies must be filled by a non-female nominee (i.e. it will not be possible to elect two female nominees to the Board for 2024).

Best of luck to all of the nominees for 2024 and thank you for your interest and enthusiasm in putting your names forward as Directors at Large for the Sail Canada Board!