Accueil » National Programming Awards

National Programming Awards

Désolé, la version française de cette page n'est pas encore disponible.

William Abbott Senior Award

Nomination form

In 1991, at the second annual CYA Sail Training Symposium, the Sarnia Yacht Club donated a trophy in honour of William Abbott Senior, who as well as being one of Canada's best known yacht builders, has contributed significantly to sail training at Sarnia Yacht Club.

The purpose of the trophy is to recognize the many fine programs run by dedicated volunteers throughout Canada and to share the information among clubs for the improvement of their sail-training programs. In order to be eligible, the nominated program must:

a) Be run by a club or school member in good standing of the Canadian Yachting Association.

b) Employ CYA certified instructor(s).

c) Follow the CYA program and use the CYA material.

Previous winners:

2009 Ontario Sailing BOOM and Access BOOM Program
2008 Nepean Sailing School
2007 WaveSkills Sailing School, Charlottetown, PE
2006 Regional Cadet Support Unit Pacific
2005 Kingston Yacht Club
2004 Britannia Yacht Club, Ottawa, ON
2003 Parry Sound Sailing School, division of Sail Parry Sound, Inc.
2002 Royal Hamilton Yacht Club, Hamilton, ON
2001 Burrard Yacht Club, North Vancouver, B.C.
2000 Central Okanagan Sailing Association, B.C.
1999 Lake of Bays Sailing Club, ON
1998 Royal Newfoundland Yacht Club, NFLD
1997 Royal Hamilton Yacht Club, ON
1996 Ottawa Sailing School, ON.
1995 Niagara on the Lake Sailing Club, ON
1994 Bedford Basin Yacht Club, NS
1993 Hamilton West Sailing Adventures, ON
1992 Sarnia Yacht Club, Sarnia, ON
1991 Central Okanagan Sailing Association, BC


CYA Recreation Event Award

Nomination form

This award was established in 1997 to recognize a club, an organization, an individual or a group that has contributed to the promotion of recreational sailing in Canada.

The club, organization or individual nominated for this award must be Canadian based, and affiliated with the Canadian Yachting Association.

Previous winners:

2009 La Course Jacques Cartier & Sail Parry Sound – the Big Sound Challenge
2008 Ontario Sailing BOOM Program
2007 Not Awarded
2006 Royal Canadian Sea Cadets
2005 Broad Reach Foundation
2004 Starlight Starbright Children’s Family Day
2003 Regional Cadet Support Unit Pacific
2002 Boat for Hope
2001 OSA's BOOM Programme
2000 Tall ships 2000 & Agnes McLean
1999 Easter Seals Regatta
1998 Edward Walentynowicz & Maciej Smaja
1997 Newfoundland Flotilla