Friday, January 20, 2012


The Board of Directors of the Canadian Yachting Association proudly declares that Paul D. Phelan, of Toronto, Ontario, is the winner of the 2011 Canadian Rolex Sailor of the Year Award.
The Board of Directors of the Canadian Yachting Association determined that Paul D. Phelan’s continuing and unwavering support of Canadian high performance sailing and the National Sailing Team through The P. J. Phelan Sailing Foundation merited the most prestigious award in Canadian sailing. 
Alan Lombard, President CYA, said ‘The P.J. Phelan Sailing Foundation has been a source of considerable support for Canadian sailors for many years.  Paul D. Phelan’s stewardship of his father’s legacy through the Foundation and Paul D. Phelan’s creation of Wind Athletes Canada to serve Canada’s sailors has been exemplary.’
Wind Athletes Canada, through the support of The P. J. Phelan Sailing Foundation, has inspired Canadian sailing excellence in many ways.  Members of the Canadian Sailing Team have received needed funding and coaching support for many years.  Wind Athletes Canada has also enabled promising Canadian sailors to acquire Olympic Class boats for their campaigns and provided logistical resources that contributed to Canada reclaiming the Canada’s Cup in September.
More recently, Paul D. Phelan provided the vision and leadership for the 2011 O CANADA offshore racing campaign, a unique national platform, demonstrating that Canadian sailors can hold their own in the international offshore arena. The five man, all-Canadian crew included Canadian Olympic sailors and national team members.  O CANADA competed in four major offshore races capturing a first and two seconds as well as a third overall in the 2,225 mile Transpac Race finishing just behind 2 boats 15 to 20 feet longer.  In addition, Paul D. Phelan has made a valued contribution to expanding the presence and knowledge of Canadian sailing through his production of high performance sailing documentaries featuring Canadian sailors. Two of these documentaries have been broadcast on Canada’s national television network and are also viewed around the globe.
The Canadian Rolex Sailor of the Year award will be presented at an awards dinner in the Carlu, Toronto on February 4th.
The other CYA awards announced are:
CYA Male Athlete of the Year - Al Clark, British Columbia
CYA Volunteer of the YearRon Rubadeau, British Columbiaand Marilea McAllister & Ethel Thayer, Ontario
Gerry Roufs TrophyWill Apold, Nova Scotia
Bill Burk Youth Elite Memorial Award
Female - Fréderique Tougas / Florence Pepin-Delhaes, Quebec
MaleKyle Campbell Martin, British Columbia
Marvin McDill AwardIngrid Merry, Ontario
Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award for Developing SailorsThomas Ramshaw, Ontario 
City of Kingston Regatta of the Year Award - Royal Hamilton Yacht club and Burlington Sailing & Boating Club, Ontario
For the Rotary Mobility Cup 2011
Chisholm Trophy for Excellence in Race ManagementSt. Margaret Sailing Club, Nova Scotia
For the 2011 Trihedral CYA National Sailing Championships
Coach of the Year AwardMurray McCullough, Ontario
William Abbott Sr. TrophyRoyal Victoria Yacht Club, British Columbia
President’s AwardGrant Hood (owner) and Oskar Johansson (Helm), Ontario
For The Royal Canadian Yacht Club’s Canada’s Cup victory
President’s AwardJohn Hele (owner) and Terry McLaughlin (Helm), Ontario
For The Royal Canadian Yacht Club’s NYYC invitational Cup victory
For 25 years Rolex Canada has proudly sponsored the Canadian Rolex Sailor of the Year.
The Awards Presentation dinner will take place February 4th 2012 at the Carlu, Toronto Click here for details . Further details of the awards and the criteria are available at