Friday, January 25, 2013

The 2012 Sail Canada Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards took place Saturday January 19th at The Carlu in Toronto. All in attendance enjoyed this prestigious event and were filled with anticipation for the Rolex Sailor of the Year Award announcement made at the conclusion of the evening.  

Sail Canada is proud to announce Oskar Johannson as the 2012 Sail Canada Rolex Sailor of the Year

Oskar was in attendance to receive the award with a very proud group of friends and family. Victor Royce, CEO Rolex Canada, delivered the award announcement and winner’s watch, a Rolex Oyster Perpetual Submariner Date, engraved with Oskar’s name and title. 

Highlights of the night included a cocktail reception, dinner and entertainment at the beautiful venue, The Carlu. Annual awards were also proudly distributed to youth and senior sailors at all levels across the Canadian Sailing spectrum, which included:


The Bill Burk Youth Elite Memorial Award

Justin Vittecoq, Ali ten Hove & Allie Surette

William Abbott Sr. Trophy - Sail Training Program of the Year Award

Vancouver Island School Sailing League – Royal Victoria YC

City of Kingston Regatta of the Year Award

2012 Shark Worlds – Kingston Yacht Club

Volunteer of the Year Award

Fiona Kidd 

Coach of the Year

Agustin Ferrario

Gerry Roufs Trophy

Eric Holden

Male Athlete of the Year Award

Zac Plavsic 

Female Athlete of the Year Award

Nikola Girke 

Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award for Developing Sailors

Jacob and Grame Chaplin Saunders - Sunders 470 Team

Marvin McDill Memorial Award

Tom Ramshaw

Chisolm Trophy for Excellence in Race Management 

Craig & Ross CYA Youth National Championships

Recreations Event of the Year 

Toronto Windsurfing Club


Click here to view a gallery of the evening’s photography.